Menu Bottom


The Hopkinton Public Library’s Board of Trustees is a five-member elected board responsible for overseeing the library for the benefit of the community.  Working closely with the Library Director, members are responsible for establishing library policies and plans, assisting the Director in finalizing the budget, strategic planning, goals and objectives, and conducting public relations.

Board of Trustees members for Fiscal Year 2021 are: 

  • Susan Porter, Chairperson  (current term ends 2025)
  • Jessica McCaffrey, Vice Chair (current term ends 2023)
  • Anne Beauchamp, Recording Secretary (current term ends 2024)
  • David Dollenmayer, Liaison to the Friends of the Hopkinton Public Library (current term ends 2025)
  • Warren Carter Liaison to Hopkinton Public Library Foundation (current term ends 2023)
Until 2010, the Library Board of Trustees was a private entity. In 2010, the private Board agreed to donate the library to the Town of Hopkinton, making it possible for the library to apply for a building grant of $4.5M for the renovation and expansion of the library. Becoming an official Town Department means that all Trustees are now elected by the community rather than appointed. Each member is elected for a 3-year term, rotating, so that only 1 or 2 positions are open for each town election cycle.

The board meets at the Hopkinton Public Library at 7:00 pm on the third Monday of each month, from September through June, and at other times as needed.  All meetings conform to the Open Meeting Law and are posted with the town. During the Covid Emergency, all meetings are being held via Zoom with a link in the Town Calendar.

We welcome community attendance at meetings as well as any questions or concerns relating to the library.  You can contact us through the Library Director or at

For Board minutes and documents, please search the Town's repository